Shaggy’s Recommendations for Narratess’s Indie Sale in April 2024!


It’s once again time for the best sale around: The Indie Narratess Sale! Tessa’s sale is my favorite one because it always has such a good variety of books and the website looks nice and is easy to navigate. She puts so much effort into this, is super responsive with issues and questions, and always has a ton of books I’m interested in. It is focused on fantasy, sci-fi, and horror so if you like those genres, definitely check it out! All of the books are 1.99, 0.99, or free (at least in the UK/US and she encourages her authors to do it everywhere else as well).

I’ll be once again sharing some of my favorite books that are in this sale. I did my best to make these different from my post for the last sale but some do still overlap since I haven’t read quite as many from this one. I’ll also show y’all which ones I already own that I’m super excited about and which ones I’ll be buying to add to my own TBR. I made these different from my last post as well but if you want to see what I’ve highlighted before, check them out here! Some of those are on sale this time around too! Hopefully everyone will find something awesome to draw their interest! Also, make sure to scroll to the bottom for some special mentions!




Hills of Heather and Bone

K.E. Andrews


This one was on my TBR since I first heard about it but I was worried about reading it for various personal reasons. I’m so glad SPFBO finally made me do it though because I adored this book. I love the different themes and the storytelling style. It was a perfect fit for me.



Legacy of the Brightwash

Krystle Matar


Brightwash is one of my absolute favorite books ever. I recommend it all the time. If you like your fantasy a little dark with a little romance, an amazing plot, and fantastic characters, then you have to get this one! It’s just so good! I’ll be rereading it this year so I can finally read the next one!



No Land for Heroes

Cal Black


No Land for Heroes is the fun first installment of Legends & Legacies. While Wild West settings aren’t generally something I go for, I’m really glad I have this one a chance. At over 100 novels, novellas, and short stories this year, this one really stood out to me with an engaging story, fun setting, and great ensemble of characters. It had a great emphasis on relationships, both of the romantic and non-romantic kind, and while there was definitely romance as a main part of the story, it didn’t overshadow the entire book but rather was one part of a great whole. The second book, No Port in a Storm, is coming up soon in my TBR!



A Necromancer Called Gam Gam

Adam Holcombe


A Necromancer Called Gam Gam is so cute! You wouldn’t think that it’d be possible to make a story about a necromancer and the undead she raises cute and cozy but here we are. It’s a quick read with both lighthearted as well as heavy moments that’ll keep you glued to the pages till the end.



The Many Shades of Midnight

C M Debell


This one is technically cheating because I haven’t finished it yet but I saw it and really wanted to include it. I’m about a third in and having a great time with it. I like the writing style a lot and the plot has some really exciting aspects that I’m excited to explore more!



A Rival Most Vial

R.K. Ashwick


Vial is another book I read for SPFBO and had a lot of fun with. If you like your romance a little cozy with a little bit of adventure and lots of great friends, then this is the perfect book for you.



Fortune’s Fool

Angela Boord


Fortune’s Fool is the beginning to one of my favorite series I’ve been reading lately. I love the way the pasts and presents of the characters collide, how the gods meddle with the affairs of mortals, and how magic is more intricate and unique than everybody thought! It’s such a fun series so don’t let the chonkers scare you!



The Boddicker Letters

A.C. Cross


This one was a little different to my usual books but I love changing things up a bit sometimes. Written in letters and set in a world that is darker and more corrupt than you might expect, the main character in this book has to get through more adventures than he signed up for! This is the second book by Cross that I have read and both were quite unique. I’m really excited to see what comes next!




Insiders

Shannon Knight


I’ve loved this cover since I first saw it but sadly haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet. I’m really intrigued by the premise so I’m hoping to give it a try soon!



Platinum Tinted Darkness

Timothy Wolff


I don’t actually know much about this one besides that it has a really cool cover. But the author is super kind and generous and always does what he can to help out others in the indie community and that’s enough reason for me to give his books a try and support him!



The Erstwhile Tyler Kyle

Steve High Westenra


This one is horror so I am a little worried about it but ode heard it’s a little weird and really fun rather than super super scary, so maybe it’ll be okay for me. Steve is a really nice guy so I want to give this one a try.



Shadow of a Dead God

Patrick Samphire


I’ve heard really good things about this one and it’s been on my TBR for a while so I’m hoping to be able to finally get to it soon as well. It sounds like a lot of fun.



ReBirth

Azshure Raine


This one I received a review copy of a little while back and with my mood leaning more and more towards romance lately, I’m excited to try it soon. It is said to have multiple POVs, energetic prose, and deep world-building, which sounds perfect for me.



The Garden Gnome

Jeff McIntyre


This one I was totally drawn in by the cover so I immediately said yes to a review copy as well. It sounds really fun!



The Soul of Chaos

Gregory Wunderlin


I did a spotlight for this book a while back and am excited to see it getting some attention recently. I heard it’s really good and with my mood making a turn back to epic fantasy again lately, it seems the perfect time to give this a try!



These Violent Nights

Rebecca Crunden


I’ve read a couple of shorter works by Crunden and enjoyed them a lot so I want to continue to make my way through their back titles. This one sounds like it could work really well for me.



This Too Shall Burn

Cat Rector


Rector is one of those authors whose works I want to read so badly but just never seem to come around to. I think this one is shorter than the first book in their other series so I’ll likely start with it since I’ve heard really good things about it too.



Witch in the Lighthouse

Azalea Forrest


Lighthouse recently got this brand new cover and its vibes scream that it is a book for me. It’s relatively short so I’m planning on squeezing it in really soon. I’ve already got it downloaded to my kindle.


That’s 10 books I’m excited to get to that are already on my TBR. Technically there are way more in this sale that I already own and am excited for but I have to stop at some point or WordPress will have a fit again about the length of my post and the amount of pictures in it. For the next section, I will only add the covers of some of the books I’m buying in Tessa’s sale.





Just like last time, I want to again mention the books by our evil overlord, Tessa. She puts so much hard work into this sale every time and is such a big supporter in the indie community! Please give back to her by grabbing copies of her books as well! Tales of Lunis Aquaria is the only one on sale this time around but you should definitely check out her others as well!




5 thoughts on “Shaggy’s Recommendations for Narratess’s Indie Sale in April 2024!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

oflifeandmyths

where i ramble on whatever i feel like....

Lizzie Martin

For Love and For Lust. Together or apart, they go wild in our imagination.

Cloud Cuckoo Kiss

Medi(t)ating between the wor(l)ds

Novel Lives

Book Publicity, Book Reviews, And Author Interviews

Lines by Leon: Leon Stevens, Science Fiction Author and Poet

Leon Stevens is a poet, science fiction author, and composer. Writing updates, humorous blogs, music, and poetry.

Iseult Murphy

Horror, Fantasy and Science Fiction Author

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started